Who knows monitors?

SquarePeg

hear me roar
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am getting a new desktop and monitor but will likely wait until summer to do so. Meanwhile, I'm considering getting the monitor now to use with my laptop which has a terrible display. Will a good monitor be a waste of time on a low end laptop? Should I just wait? If it will be an improvement, what are the minimum to ideal specs that I should be looking for? I don't game so only looking for photo editing and video watching qualities, if that makes a difference. Budget for the monitor is $200-$300.

Thanks in advance for your informed opinions.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Well then I guess I need to know what to look for in a OK display. Since I am only a hobbyist, and a relative beginner at that, I'm certainly not looking for a pro grade high end $1000+ display.

Thanks for your input.

That looks like a good choice. Great reviews of it on Amazon and on B&H.

I still need to find out if it will be effective to get the monitor now if I'm only going to be able to use it with my laptop or if I should just wait and get it when I get the tower. I just started researching this today.

Thanks for your suggestion!

It looks like a great monitor. Covers 100% of sRGB and comes calibrated

It looks like a great monitor. Covers 100% of sRGB and comes calibrated

It won't stay calibrated for long, so that it comes calibrated is a non-feature.

Displays change the fastest in their early life.
I re-calibrate a new display weekly for the first 3 months, then every 2 weeks for the next 3 months, then once every new moon starting with the 7th month.
Using the new moon timing I re-calibrate my editing display at least 13 times a year.

The main issue with that Asus display (and most other inexpensive IPS displays) for editing photos is the limited color depth (8-bits) it can display.

Last edited: