Why are my pictures FLAT?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by STINKY PICTURES, Mar 17, 2007.

1. STINKY PICTURES

STINKY PICTURES TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Heres a sample of my pictures. This was taken quickly just to show you my problem. I know its not good color either, but thats another issue. I need to know how to make my pictures look more dimensional. I have a set of 3 photo lamps. How do I use them to get dimension? Or do I just use 1 of them from an angle? This shot...... the lamp was pretty much straight on, I illuminated the subject from the front. What am I doing wrong and how can I improve my pictures. Any help or suggestions will be tried. Thanks for your time.

[​IMG]

2. theusher

theusher TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Straight on light will give you flat light, and make your pictures look dull. I'm no lighting pro, lots of people here are very skilled at it though. I would say at very least try some angles with the lamps, and diffuse the light.

3. STINKY PICTURES

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for your quick reply. I used the umbrella and the bulb light came through the fabric. In other words it wasn`t a bare bulb. But the light is 500 watts, a dark blue bulb.. maybe it was too close too? I struggle with orange pictures. I set my camera to the 18% gray card... trying to learn that too.

4. Groupcaptainbonzo

Groupcaptainbonzo TPF Noob!

A lot of people like flat light because you can get all the detail in the image... Like you I prefer a bit of "Modeling" in the lighting. Experiment with the light at different angles (45 deg above and to one side is traditional). this will cast a few shadows which will require filling in a little with a reflector placed on the other side of the subject just out of shot. to start with the other lights can remain in the bag. When you find a set up you like , you can start lighting the background or the hair with the other two....