Why do my images print out fuzzy?

nsupanda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First let me start off by saying that I am a VERY new beginner with photography. The problem I'm having is that I take the pictures and then I edit them with photoshop elements. They turn out pretty good on the computer screen, but when I get the actual prints in the mail they are fuzzy. Not too fuzzy that they're worthless, but they just don't look "professional". Now, I'm not expecting much here because I really don't know all the tricks of the trade, but I don't know why there is such a difference between on-screen and on-paper. My pictures are on my blog if you want to see my work so far:

www.amandarealphotography.blogspot.com

I'm using a Canon xsi with only the kit lens so far. I use mpix for printing services. I am also using the highest megapixels my camera offers (12 I think).

Please let me know if you have any advice or comments. Thanks!

Oh! I also must add that I only use RAW files and then save that RAW file to a .tiff file to stop any loss that may occur after processing.

Hi Amanda,

Can you tell us the details of the images that you send to print lab? What size (in pixels) are they? (have you resized them in processing?)
What PPI (resolution) do you have them set to?
Do you apply any sharpening while processing?
Do you send those TIFF files or do you save a JPEG copy for printing?

Well, now that I'm seriously thinking about it... I'm looking at the original files and they're sort of fuzzy on screen when I zoom in closer... So it's probably not the processing... it's just me and my lack of knowledge.