Why do you take Photos?

nukie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
iced.vanillashots.com
I apologise if this topic has already been discussed on here. I did a quick search and couldn't find anything, so now I'm posting it.

Over the last few days, I've been pondered what appears to be an extremely simple question on the surface, but the more you think about it, the most complex the answer gets ...

Why do you take photos?

Personal Enjoyment? Recreation? Cause its your Job? Explore new ideas? People make you? Otherwise you'd be bored?

So come on, I'm eager to hear why :)

Artistic expression. I don't know any other way to put it. There are lots of different KINDS of photography: we've all snapped the family vacation shots, right?? Smile and say Cheese!! But...then there's something else that compels you to pick up the camera, and THAT is the artistic expression part.

My day job is management, and I think my little soul would wither and die if I didn't have this creative outlet. Sounds a mite dramatic, I guess, but really, it's the truth. I'm in a completely different mindset, almost a different person, when I'm dealing with photography.

For me it is the freedom to express and be creative. Also once the present becomes the past, all that is left is the memories and the pictures. So have a great time with the pic's and always be able to look back and remember those memories.

I have always heard people wish they had more pictures of the past and I enjoy the creative outlet and expression that comes with it.
:wink: :idea: 8)