Why do you take photo's

alsoran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I recently found something out that shook me really badly. I started to think why?

Is it all for money, for the pleasure or for another reason?

I am a newbie on this forum and this is a fairly heavy question I do realise that but bear with me if you will and the South African spirit will come through esp. after both my teams saw off NZ and Au teams tonight. :D

Anyway I guess the question is why do you take photos?

I think we've had a thread on this before, but I'm too lazy to look for it. :wink:

I do it purely for pleasure and artistic outlet. That's kind of saying the same thing for me, though, really. :p

Oh, I am really sorry I did look for a post like it but possibley due to the time of night i did not find one.

My apologies if I offended anyone.

Once again sorry for reposting an old topic.

alsoran

It's not a problem. There are lots of new folks on the board, and I don't think it's a bad idea to redo things once in a while in off-topic forums.

I shoot for enjoyment and to make memories right now. I'm looking at starting a side portrait business to enhance my wife's scrapbooking business, tho.

Artistic expression outlet and pleasure.

I think that one reason I take pictures is to share with (show off to :wink:) friends & family.
I could put people to sleep telling/showing them what I do at work but everybody likes looking at pictures.
Besides, it's a nice ego boost when people complement your photos.

On another level, it's deeply personal. Experimenting and learning the craft of photography is a personal journey.

It also gives me an excuse to hang out here :p

Oh, I am really sorry I did look for a post like it but possibley due to the time of night i did not find one.

Listen to Drlynn. :wink: It's not a problem at all. One thing you'll discover is that we DO like to hear ourselves talk.

Besides, from this:

I recently found something out that shook me really badly. I started to think why?