Why does my computer want to format my sd card?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by RockDawg, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. RockDawg

    RockDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I have a Kingston 2GB SD card and it works fine in my D80 and my laptop reads pictures off it fine. But when I put it in my desktop, it complains that I need to format it before I can use it. Has anyone experienced this before? What should I do?

    I thought about going ahead and formatting it, but does it matter which file system I choose? What about allocation size? Why does this computer have a problem with it when the camera and laptop don't?
     
  2. MikeBcos

    MikeBcos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    If it works in your D80 and your laptop there is nothing wrong with the card, the problem is more likely to be with your desktop. There is a real possibility that if you format it in the desktop it will not work at all.

    As for what is wrong, that is very hard to say. Files on PCs become corrupt, I have developed the habit of formatting and reloading the software on all my computers annually, that avoids a lot of problems like this.
     
  3. stsinner

    stsinner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Don't format it with your computer unless it won't work otherwise.. One tip-any seasoned digital photographer formats their card with their camera before every shoot....
     
  4. RockDawg

    RockDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I just formatted the card in my camera and took a test shot. My desktop still tells me it needs to format it.
     
  5. dxqcanada

    dxqcanada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +468 / 1
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    What Operating System is being used ?
     
  6. RockDawg

    RockDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Vista Home Premium
     
  7. dxqcanada

    dxqcanada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +468 / 1
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I had the same problem with Vista.

    I had an SD card that was formatted FAT32 on a Windows XP system. When I placed it in my Windows Vista system it complained that the card required formating.

    I did format it in Vista as FAT32, and now both systems accept it.

    Your problem may be more complicated as I am not sure if your Digital Camera will like it ... though you should give it a try.
     
  8. twozero

    twozero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East TN
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    as long as there are no photos at risk... format it on the desktop and if it doesn't work in the camera, just format it again (in camera). you don't have anything to lose, so give it a shot.
     
  9. RockDawg

    RockDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Should I format FAT32 like dxqcanada suggests?
     
  10. goodoneian

    goodoneian New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    temecula, ca
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    i've actually been having the same problem with my CF card. i'm running vista home premium 64 bit though
     
  11. Flash Harry

    Flash Harry New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I'd stick to formatting in camera, its probably some vista bug not ironed out by MS, as long as you can download your files from the drive/card there should be no problems. H
     
  12. RockDawg

    RockDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    That's just it, I can't get the files off the card and onto my desktop computer. Granted, I can copy them from my laptop, but that's a hassle to have to do that every time. The weird thing is that there never used to be a problem with this card and this computer.
     
  13. dxqcanada

    dxqcanada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +468 / 1
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Yes.
    Full format (not quick), FAT32 with default Allocation size.
     
  14. UtahsRebel

    UtahsRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    The weird thing is that there never used to be a problem with this card and this computer.

    What changed on your computer just before this started happening? A new program added, a security update, a new website visited that may have attached spyware? Something had to change to suddenly cause the conflict.
     
  15. manaheim

    manaheim Jedi Bunnywabbit Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,849
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3,102 / 2
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Really? I've never done this in my life. Generally speaking I would usually tell people not to format things repeatedly... why put the additional stress on the card if you don't need to, and what happens if the formatting goes awry and makes the card permanently or temporarily unusable?

    Does anyone else do this?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
computer wants to format my sd card
,

computer wants to format sd card

,
how to format a sd card
,
sd card wants to be formatted
,
sd card wants to format
,
what will happen if i did not format my cf card being using 5d mark 2
,
When I try to upload my photos from my ScanDisk it tells me I need to format the disc
,
why do i have to format my sd card
,
why do i need to format my sd card
,
Windows asks me to reformat my SD card