why does the D300 pop-up flash fire in commander mode

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by astroskeptic, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. astroskeptic

    astroskeptic TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm hoping someone here with experience using the D300 with the SB-800 (or similar gear) can tell me what I'm doing wrong.

    I'm trying to get the SB-800 flash to fire in remote mode without the D300's popup flash firing. I had tried this in the past and gave up but today I was reading Kelby and came across a section where he gives step-by-step directions for doing this with Nikon so I'm trying again to get it to work since supposedly it's supposed to do this. My trouble is that it doesn't work when I have it setup the way I think is correct. The <bleep>-ing popup fires no matter what I do.

    I have a shot below of my settings. I have the D300 in commander mode, group A, channel 1 with the build in mode set to "--". With these settings, the SB-800 fires, as expected, and so does the D300 popup. What am I doing wrong?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. peanut170

    peanut170 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vancouver, Washington
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    think its sending the signal to the flash
     
  3. astroskeptic

    astroskeptic TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was shat I assumed when I tried and gave up on this before but the manual states it is pre-flashes and not the main flash that is used in this case. The main flash is supposed to be disable-able with that -- mode.
     
  4. Moe

    Moe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    peanut's got it right. That's the way they communicate. It's actually firing before the shutter opens, so it shouldn't contribute to your photograph. It's the preflash they talked about; it's just happening so fast it looks as though it's firing regularly. Are you seeing the effects of the built in flash on your photo? Try taking a photo with the settings above, then try taking a photo with the built in on TTL or manual. I bet you'll see the difference. You could even try taking a photo of yourself in the mirror with the built in set to off. Again, I bet the SB will light up the room and you'll see the built in flash not lit up at all in the photo. Hope that wasn't too confusing.
     
  5. astroskeptic

    astroskeptic TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm... this sounds plausible. I tried the mirror experiment and the popup flash looked exactly like I would expect if it were firing under normal conditions. I didn't actually compare it to the non-commander case since my goal here is to have it either not fire at all or fire only at some very subtle level.

    Here's what the manual says about the built-in flash "--" mode:

    The built-in flash does not fire, but the AF-assist illuminator lights. The built-in flash must be raised so that it can emit monitor pre-flashes.

    The above implies to me that either nothing noticeable, or something much less noticeable than the main flash is what to expect (Kelby describes it as a "small" flash but doesn't specify whether it is noticeable). What I'm seeing looks to me like flash business as usual but maybe it is "smaller" but not enough for me to notice.
     
  6. Dominantly

    Dominantly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    San Diego, CA (RB)
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It will emit a small trigger flash, and if you are close enough to your subject, it WILL show up. This can be a deal breaker for using Commander Mode for some shots, and it's reason to look into a wireless sync like the cactus V2 unit.
    You can also set your Built in Flash to shoot TTL along with your remote strobe. I haven't played around too much with it, but it seems as though it could work well in certain situations.
     
  7. Dominantly

    Dominantly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    San Diego, CA (RB)
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Oh, and what I do get around the pop up excess is to use a deflector I hold over the lens, bouncing the light towards the flash and not onto the subject.
     
  8. astroskeptic

    astroskeptic TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I had the wrong expectations on this one. Thanks for the info, all.
     
  9. edouble

    edouble TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NEPA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Do some research. With Nikon's CLS you can use HSS. Your shutter speed needs to be 1/350 or faster. If slower you will catch the sppedlight in your exposures even at -- and lowest power.

    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opdMH7V4JVQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opdMH7V4JVQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player[/ame]
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
commander mode nikon d300
,
d300 command mode
,
d300 commander mode
,
d300 flash commander
,

d300 flash commander mode

,
d300s commander mode
,
how to disable the pop up flash when using it as a commander
,
hpw to turn off nikon flash on d300
,
nikon d300 commander mode flash
,
nikon d300 decrease built in flash