Why is everything bright/Terms?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Vilatus, Dec 18, 2017.

1. Vilatus

Vilatus TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi everyone, first post here! I need a little help with my camera.
    I have a Nikon D3300, and everything is coming out super bright when I try to go outside with it. I adjusted the white balance so that it was set to direct sunlight, but it doesn't help. Everything comes out like I'm trying to take a picture of a flashlight. I tried turning active D-lighting off as well, and it did nothing either. Its snowy outside, but that shouldn't be an issue should it? I intend to mostly do pet photos, but I would like to take it on the go sometimes.

Also, if anyone could explain the technical terms of my camera to me that would be wonderful... I'm a total newbie, I just bought this camera because I've known I wanted to do photography for a while and this was highly recommended for beginners everywhere I looked. I'll insert a picture below of what I'm talking about. Any advice is welcome, thank you!

Attached Files:

2. astroNikon

astroNikon 'ya all Bananas I tell 'ya Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Do you have a picture that is coming out really bright,
    rather than just the settings ?

and yes, snow reflects light really well. So it can cause issues but we need to see a photo to help you. But the 1/40th second and high ISO probably is a primary issues.

3. Braineack

Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    you're shooting in M mode, with settings that would be VERY bright in the sun.

you basically told your camera the capture the amount of light necessary for a dim scene, then when you took the picture you have MUCH more light that your camera was ready to collect, so it blew out the image.

if you really wanna get technical: EV - Exposure Value, EV chart, calculator

Last edited: Dec 18, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1