Why is my lens searching?

STINKY PICTURES

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok I got the great little 50mm 1.8mm Canon Lens and I love it. Some of my shots have been OUTSTANDING!!! But today it seems to be searching and searching and searching and not locking down..... (I`m shooting indoors in my sunroom, its an over cast day with no sun, but i`m 4 feet from a glass door, plenty of light) I just got it a few days ago. I`m wondering if i should send it back. its really getting to be a pain in the butt. I also can see LOTS of dust inside the lens... I`m shooting a doll (I sell on ebay for a living, work from home). I have a Canon 40d and I can select a focus point with my camera, I`m selecting hight points, dark points, flat places. I`m trying every thing. I`m moving the tripod all over the place. I keep getting the focusing searching with the lens. Then i put on my 28-135mm and its solid as a rock. But I want the sharpness of the 50mm 1.8.

should i send the little bugger back, first because of all the crap inside, and second because of the searching?

also what causes a lens to search. i`m sure its me, how can i help this little fellow. my big lens is having no problem at all. I don`t see the dust on my pics, i just wanted to add that.

I also tried changing the focus points in my camera to other focus points thinking that maybe that was the problem but it didn`t matter. sometimes it locks on and when it does WOW.. NICE SHOT. so any advice??

I got it at B & H and while there is still time if i need to send it back.... well....if i have to i will.

Is this what your talking about?

IMG3899.JPG

I'm assuming that this isn't the problem that you are having, but a lot of times when I try to use that lens I get too close for it to focus and I have to move back from the subject.

Try taking a pencil eracer to your elements, Make sure you have good communucation, they look a tough hazy.