Why is this so terrible.....

JustJazzie

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I don't always post questions about camera equipment, Sometimes I post horrible pictures too. :Giggle:

I was going through pictures from the lake the other day and Im so disappointed. This was one of the prettiest spots that I found, and I *thought* I was shooting it during a good time, but apparently not. My intention was to attempt another HDR but the clouds moved so that won't work at all. Anyways, it falls pretty flat so I figured it would be a good one to get some hardcore C&C on.

Dont be too nice, Im ready this time.

$14330542418_57960191dc_c.jpg

Here is a link to the larger file if it helps to see it bigger.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/33723628@N02/14330542418/

I'm just getting into this hobby but for me there's just nothing of interest. I mean the road is nice but it leads to nothing. Maybe if a storm was in the background or something significant it would be better. Fwiw I've taken tons of these pics as well. Like you, they seem to always fall flat.

Hooefully someone one with more wisdom will come along and chime in.

Because of the road at foreground the background wich should be the main object of this image looks flat. Personaly I'm not a fan of low points of view so I would crop the bottom part of the image. And the white balance settings is way too cold.

Too much rocky road, not enough ice cream...the rocky road at the foreground is soooooo wide,and sooo prominent in this photo that it makes the background look small. I'd say too short of a focal length to make the "scene" really pop. You were seeing with yuor eyes and brain, but the camera's vision was very different.