Why sky over exposed

adikrist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I am a beginner in photography and i'd like to know what is the reason that the sky is over exposed in my photos.
I know this is quite a common problem. Found some infos in google, but they all saying about how to fix over exposed sky and how to avoid it.. But what is actually the reason that this happens?

Thanks for tips..

When you point the camera at your subject it is taking the light meter from the subject and not the sky. Point the camera at the sky and you will see your subject get dark.

Thats why people often meter the sky and use flash.

Thank for quick reply.

@Jason: if i point the camera on the sky, the subject will be blur as it's not focused.. ?
@Schwettylens: i dont like the effect using flash as the face will look somehow shinny. Any other trick besides using flash?

What are you trying to take pictures of? If you're doing landscapes, then the simple solution is a graduated neutral density filter; they're tinted on top and fade to clear on the bottom, so you can lower the brightness of the sky by a certain number of stops and correctly expose the foreground.

Shiny faces shouldn't be a problem if you use a fractional power setting on an external flash. It's possible on most external flashes with some manual control to go to 1/2 power or 1/8 power for fill-flash purposes. You can also use a flash diffuser, which is a piece of opaque plastic that attaches to the front of the flash. If you're using on-camera flash, try a piece of tissue paper (or two) taped over the flash to soften it. You should also check on your particular camera model. My Elan 7, for example, automatically assumes the flash will be the primary source of light in P mode and sets the exposure accordingly. In Av mode, however, it assumes the on-camera flash will be a fill flash and sets the exposure as if there were no flash involved.
@Jason: if i point the camera on the sky, the subject will be blur as it's not focused.. ?