Wide angle lens help

emt123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Definitely a noob here so I apologize in advance for asking what is probably a really basic question.

I've been using an old 35mm slr for a few years. I'm now planning to upgrade to a Nikon D5300 in the next month or so. Buying from Amazon. It comes with an 18-140 lens. The main reason I'm diving into the DSLR world is to capture some awesome snowboarding shots of friends and myself. I'd like to get really crisp pictures of the rider and also a wide view of the background (trees, mountains, lodge, etc)

My question is, what are my options with wide angle lenses? I don't want that really distorted fish eye view. I see some "wide angle" lenses on Amazon that appear to thread onto the kit lense...are those legit? Or am I going to need to drop thousands on something else? As a beginner it's hard to wrap my brain around spending more money on a lense than I spent on the camera. I know you get what you pay for and I'm willing to go there, just seeing what my options are first. Thanks in advance! -Steve

You don't need to drop "thousands" to get started, although screw-on auxiliary lenses aren't worth it.

The 18mm end of the 18-140 will provide you with the equivalent of roughly 28mm in 35mm format. A bit wider would be a 16mm lens which would be the equivalent of 24mm in 35mm. The 16mm is about the maximum wide angle before distortion starts (not always that noticeable).

At the long end, your 140mm will be the equivalent of about 210mm, the bare minimum for medium telephoto length. You'll be surprised just how small the images will be at the 140mm end. Of course, a lot depends on just how close you can get (or want to get) to the snowboarders.