Wide-Angle lenses? Anyone?? :)

JaimeGibb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all!!! My mom (being the wonderful mom that she is) is planning on getting me a wide angle lens this Christmas, which I have been dying for :drool:. I have a Canon D20, and currently only have my 18-55mm starter lens on it. Obviously I am a beginner, and looking for a good wide angle lens in the $200-$300 range. Anyone out there have any suggestions?? It would be greatly appreciated!!! I also need a nice flash...again, a good, reliable one for only a few hundred...do they eixist? Help me!! :)

~Jaime

I don't know how good of one you'll get for $200-$300, but I have the Sigma 10-20mm lens for my Sony A100 and love it. Below are some of my favorite shots using this lens...unfortunately it costs about $550-$600.

(the spiraling staircase exiting the Vatican Museum)
696493024_65367307ab_o.jpg

(Pantheon...in Rome)
695622159_9ea80e80a3_o.jpg

(Spanish Steps in Rome...I was about 2 feet from the edge of the fountain)
696486548_56b1c59157_o.jpg

(The Coliseum)
695623595_b36ececd18_o.jpg

I don't have much of a recommendation on the lens, but on the flash you can get the Speedlight 430EX for about $250 (I think that's what it is). Its a very reliable flash and has a wireless slave function. Its just not quite as powerful as the higher up models.

I've got the canon 10-22 ef-s...cost me roughly 600 as well.

Unfortunatly you are not going to find a decent or for that matter a wide angle lens for less than $500 if the budget is 200-300 I would say get a good flash. A good flash can really change the way you take photos. Or if your mom is really cool ask her to spend the extra 300 and forgo your next birthday present as well, a wide angle lens is a very useful lens and will give you a lot of interesting options when shooting.