Wide Angle Or Ultra Wide for Grand Canyon?

kellybell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am just getting into photography as a hobby and purchased the Canon 60D with 18-135mm lens. I will be going to the Grand Canyon and would like a 2nd lens. I'm assuming a wide angle is the way to go, and also something I'll use a lot since I travel often.

Any advice on whether I should invest in a Canon wide angle (any suggestions welcome) or Canon ultra wide zoom (EF 17-40 or EF-S 10-22)?

I've already purchased a tripod, bag, extra battery, and UV/polarizing filters for the current lens. Any other equipment that I should consider prior to the Grand Canyon trip?

Thanks for your expertise and suggestions!

I wouldn't recommend jumping to an ultra-wide right off the bat. They're generally pricier anyway. Maybe you could rent a lens for the trip just to 'take one for a spin'.

Another option might be pano stitching software.

Your general purpose lens 18-135mm already cover the wide angle focal range. (The lower end range 18mm - )
So the 17-40mm lens only gives you 1 extra mm (you may not even notice the difference as far as the wide angle field of view goes). However, I expect better image quality from the 17-40mm lens. The 17-40mm lens is ultra wide when used with a 35mm film camera or camera with a full size sensor. With your 60D, it is considered as wide angle due to the cropped image (smaller sensor).

Ultra wide angle lens for your camera, you have few to choose from.
Canon EF-S 10-22mm
Sigma 10-20mm (there are 2 versions, one with variable max aperture and the other one is a fix max aperture)
Tokina 11-16mm (This one is quite popular)

Take a look at following link for a comparision.

Juza Nature Photography

I'd say yes to the Ultra Wide Angle lens...something that starts around 10mm.

I have the Canon 10-22mm and I love it. Although, the other lenses mentioned above are said to be pretty good as well, but may be cheaper.

take a look at the tokina 12-24 F4!