Wide lens recommendation

goodguy

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I rarely use anything wider then 24mm so my 24-70mm lens is really all that I needed so far.
Yesterday I went for the first time to do a real estate shoot for a friend as a favor.
I took my wide lens which is a very, very old Sigma 18-35mm.
I knew this lens isnt a great performer but I never expected it to suck as much as it did.
The main problem is that any light that isnt soft and the flair on this lens is insane.
The kitchen lamp had a huge hallo and the light coming from the living room window looked like a projector no matter how underexposed I tried to make the shot.
I tried same shot on my 24-70mm and the picture came out perfect so it wasnt me it was definitly the lens.
Anyways moving on since I never researched wide lenses I have no real knowledge about these things.
In most cases I like fast glass but in this case I really dont care about that as I shoot on a tripod.
So since I just finishes renovating my kitchen money is a main concern.
I am looking for a wide lens for my D750, probably used or refurbished will be better and third party is good too.
I am looking for 18mm or wider, zoom or prime.

If you look at any photo sites this lens looks great,giving fab sharp contrasty images, but deep pockets required, but maybe secondhand may suit you

Nikon 16-35mm f/4 VR Review

If you are really on a budget like I was , I bought a nikon 18-35 AF-D f/3.5-4.5 lens. Maybe not the top of the line in sharpness, etc like the 24-70 but a nice lens and I've most of my car shows in my flickr with that lens.

It's light, compact and normally in the $300 range.
it uses the motor drive in your d750 for auto focusing.

Interesintg, will look this up.
Thanks