Wildlife cropping, what are the rules? (Buzzards)

ErectedGryphon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
picasaweb.google.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
From what I have seen in this section, when cropping wildlife, most people center the subject instead of using the rule of thirds. So today I shot this photo and cropped it using both methods, I like the way both came out, but they "feel" different to me. It's hard to explain, but maybe you can "feel" what I mean, and explain it to me? I'm new to shooting wildlife and am trying to learn what I can, though 95% of what I shoot is unusable, I'll blame my auto-focus, for now... ;)

#1 Some type of buzzard maybe? (I stumbled upon them eating someones dead pet, they discarded in the woods)
Buzzard001.jpg

#2 Same shot, different crop.

Buzzard001x.jpg

Camera: Canon 5D
Lens: Canon 300mm f/4L IS USM
ISO: 100
Exposure: 1/100 @ f/4.0

Thanks in advance for any constructive comments!

From what I have seen in this section, when cropping wildlife, most people center the subject instead of using the rule of thirds.

The rule is (and listen close) there ain't no rule ;)
The reason you see so many shots in wildlife which have a very centred subject is because most people who shoot action based subjects in often overgrown or complex scenes tend to set the camera so that only the middle af point is active. That way they can point the camera direct at the subject they want to take the photo of and have the camera lock onto that - rather than let the camera pick the AF point because then its always going to pick the closest thing it can (that is how AF works) to focus on which might not be the thing you want it to.
Also (especailly the case for lower end camera bodies) the middle AF points tend to be the most accurate and fastest AF points with the outer ones being decent, but no where near as good. In the mid and higher range bodies the edge AF points are far more refined.