Winter Portrait

J.E.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, there we go, my first real photo-posting. :blushing:

It's a portrait I took some four days ago while taking portraits of my sister for a photo-calendar she wants to give her boyfriend for Christmas. It's the January Picture.

004.jpg

It's not perfect and it bears my signature only because it's for giving away and I want to be credited. I'm no professional photographer by any means. Just a girl with a small camera, really. ;)

What do you think?

Looks like you captured a "natural moment" .. which is not always easy with relatives )

Also, although the crop is unusual for me, it somehow draws us into her eyes as the main subject, nice :)

However, the image is too soft for me personally, and white balance seems a wee bit off.

maybe I would PS-out those reflections in her eyes.

Anyway, it is a good idea to have your signature in any image you show anywhere on the web! I do it even with the poorest of my images.

The pose and crop work fine for me, but I agree that it's a bit soft. I'd try sharper and with a bit more contrast. Adjusting the color is a little tough. It looks like you might have used to different kinds of light sources. Taking out the smaller highlight might work, but I'd leave the large one in.

Is it ok to post an edit?

Quick reply before I get back with more time on my hands: Thanks you two, and yes, go ahead, Mark, it's okay to post an edit. Thanks for asking, though. :)

Beautiful photo! A slight soft, but not unfixable.

First edit:
eye enhanment to draw them out even more, lip sharpening, teeth whitening.
edit1.jpg

Second edit:
above with tweeks in levels, and some sharpening.
edit2.jpg

elsaspet said:
eye enhanment to draw them out even more,

wow, quite an improvement ... ! But the eye enhancement seems overdaone to me, as now they look a bit alien as they are embedded in the rest of the image. ... but then again this was just a quick fix.