Winter Rose (not a good name, I know...I'm not good at that part!)

*BK*

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I took this last week in Aspen, CO, and then did some basic edits with Photoshop. What do you think?

Suncopy.jpg

flower not sharp enough
cropping (or painting black) needs some improvement (you see see the edges with different color)

post up the original and let the pros give you some suggestion on editting (i'm not a pro)

I deliberately softened the flower. I really didn't like it sharp, mainly because it was too bright from the sunlight. What you see on the edges isn't actually background color, I used the magnetic lasso on Photoshop Elements so the cut was right to the border. What that is is highlighting....unfortunately I can't manually add that....or if I can, I have no idea how, I'm really new to PSE. (If anyone has any idea how to do that I'd love to learn...I spent a few hours on that and just couldn't get it to do what I wanted it to.) So it places it on the edges of that particular layer automatically. I'll try to remove that and see what happens.

Thanks for the feedback. Keep it coming!!!

Call me a Philistine but I love the original.
The contrast of the absolute purity of the white rose against the dim, dark snow is great. And the slant helps the composition.

The original really???? I'll be honest...when I did it, the intention was to get rid of the original background, so I haven't even really looked at it as a complete picture. Thank you so much for that perspective, I didn't even see it that way.

I'm so surprised! I'm still having trouble seeing it....with the original background it still looks very snap-shot-y to me. I need to look at it for a little while. Thanks so much!