Wireless Remote not working for my Nikon D3100

Discussion in 'Nikon Accessories' started by milleyd, May 31, 2011.

  1. milleyd
    Offline

    milleyd New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i own a new nikon D3100 and wanted to have a wireless remote. i bought the Pixel RW-221 wireless remote from eBay ( RW-221 Wireless Shutter Remote for Nikon D7000 D3100 | eBay ).
    however, when i hook it up, it don't work! the remote and the receiver are both on the same channel and they both light up green when i push 1/2 ways down on the shutter button on the remote, and when i press fully down, both flash red which indicated a photo should have been taken. but this doesn't happen, the camera doesn't even focus! is there some kind of setting that i should have my camera on? i even contacted nikon and they said the 3100 doesn't support wireless and that i should have a MC-DC2, but the link i provided above says it should! help please!
  2. 480sparky
    Online

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,957
    Likes Received:
    5,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,248 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Why should Nikon provide support for a product that isn't even theirs?
  3. milleyd
    Offline

    milleyd New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i don't know?
    im new to this and i only asked a question.
  4. 480sparky
    Online

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,957
    Likes Received:
    5,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,248 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    If you read the Nikon manual, I'll bet there something to this effect:

    "Use Only Nikon Brand Electronic Accessories
    Nikon digital single-lens reflex cameras are designed to the highest standards and include complex electronic circuitry. Only Nikon brand electronic accessories (including lenses, battery chargers, batteries, AC adapters, and flash accessories) certified by Nikon specifically for use with this Nikon digital single-lens reflex camera are engineered and proven to operate within the operational and safety requirements of this electronic circuitry."

    It's legalese for "Don't use anything unless we make it. If you do, you can mess up your gear and we aren't responsible."
  5. OrionsByte
    Offline

    OrionsByte New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Does the company that makes the remote have some sort of support web site or phone number?
  6. milleyd
    Offline

    milleyd New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    no, i ordered it from ebay and the instructions came in chinese, which is why im in the mess.
  7. Trevor Harris
    Offline

    Trevor Harris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. John's
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    @ 480sparky - are you suggesting that nobody ever should use third party electronics? I guess I should throw my Tamron away...
  8. 480sparky
    Online

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,957
    Likes Received:
    5,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,248 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit

    Not at all. Nikon's already done that.

    My point is.... Nikon (or Canon or Olympus or Sony or Pentax or Leica.....) has nothing to do with non-OEM stuff. Just because some Chinese factory says it's compatible with a given camera does not require the camera company to figure out why it doesn't work. Look at the tires on a new vehicle..... they're warranteed by the tire manufacturer, NOT the car maker.
  9. milleyd
    Offline

    milleyd New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    this still isn't answering my question.
    this should work because the device asks like a wireless transmitter... did you even look at it ? and just because its not made by the company doesn't mean that it shouldn't work.
  10. 480sparky
    Online

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,957
    Likes Received:
    5,205
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5,248 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I looked at an ebay listing for a non-OEM accessory. That doesn't tell me much. Just because it says it works doesn't mean it will. I would suggest contacting the manufacturer of the unit.

    But I wouldn't hold my breath.
  11. hammondfra
    Offline

    hammondfra New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    They have a return policy of one year on the unit, contact the seller, tell him your plight and see what they say. Most times since they are in China, they will just send you a new unit...not saying this will, but that has been my experience working with Chinese and Korean sellers in the past.

    good luck man.


    next time search around....here is the OEM one at Amazon

    Amazon.com: Nikon ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control for Nikon P7000, D3000, D40, D40x, D50, D5000, D60, D70, D7000, D70s, D80 & D90 Digital SLR Cameras: Camera & Photo

    here is one listed here (old thread though)
    http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...-d7000-wireless-remote-shutter-n3-mc-dc2.html
  12. Trevor Harris
    Offline

    Trevor Harris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. John's
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    That one isn't compatible with her 3100
  13. hammondfra
    Offline

    hammondfra New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
  14. itf
    Offline

    itf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    The Nikon D3100 doesn't have the infrared sensor in the camera, so that is why it doesn't support the wireless remote. The Nikon one won't even work with it. How is your dslr supposed to receive a signal if it doesn't have a receiver to receive it? You would need a wired one. Either the MC-DC2 or a third party will work.
  15. Trevor Harris
    Offline

    Trevor Harris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. John's
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    @ ift - what she has bought comes in two parts. One - the transmitter. Two - the receiver which plugs into the the camera where a wired shutter release would normally plug into, making it "wireless".
  16. RoswellGA
    Offline

    RoswellGA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell Ga USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Since the remote shutter release ( Wired or Wireless ) plugs into the plug labeled "GPS" ,,, make sure that the GPS setting ( "Menu" Button / "Tools" wrench symbol ) is NOT disabled....
    I had the same problem with a "Wired" release 'till about a half hour ago ,, The book that comes with the camera isn't helpful at all on this subject. Sorry 'bout being about three years late
    but I just got my camera a couple of months ago and I've mastered about 5% of its features ( old dog ,, new tricks , that kind-o-stuff ) ,, If this doesn't work ,,, I dunno ,, Hope this helps !!




Share This Page

Search tags for this page
digipower remote for nikon d3100
,
does nikon d3100 have ir sensor
,
how to connect a wireless shutter button to a nikon d3100
,
how to d3100 remote shutter release
,
how to set up D3100 with rocketfish remote
,
jjc remote for nikon d3200 doesn't work
,
my remote does not work with my nikon camera
,
nikon camera wireless never wotks
,

nikon d3100 remote

,
nikon d3100 remote control
,
nikon d3100 remote control setup
,
nikon d3100 to remote
,
nikon d3100 wiyh targus remote
,
nikon d7000 set up for rw221
,
remote shutter not working on nikon
,
rw-221 not working
,
rw-221 wireless shutter remote wont work
,
where is the remote sensor on my nikon d3100
,
why wont my remote work at night on my nikon d3000
,
wireless remote for nikon d3100