Wireless SB-600 and D40

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Applefanboy, May 13, 2008.

  1. Applefanboy
    Offline

    Applefanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I am interested in buying an SB-600 and cactus triggers for my D40. I know the SB-600 will work with cactus triggers, but will the D40?

    Thanks!
  2. Applefanboy
    Offline

    Applefanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Oh, also, would the triggers work with a SB-400?
  3. JimmyO
    Offline

    JimmyO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    The triggers will pretty much work with anything with a hot shoe, so your good.
  4. Applefanboy
    Offline

    Applefanboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Thanks, thats good to know.
  5. Village Idiot
    Offline

    Village Idiot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,000
    Likes Received:
    359
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV / Almost, MD
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +367 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    But make sure the D40 has a hotshoe first and not a cold shoe. You'd be so mad if you ordered them and found out they didn't work.
  6. JimmyO
    Offline

    JimmyO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    ^^^d40 does have hot shoe
  7. Jus7 A Phas3
    Offline

    Jus7 A Phas3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Why would they have a cold shoe on a camera, would that serve any purpose at all?
  8. Village Idiot
    Offline

    Village Idiot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,000
    Likes Received:
    359
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV / Almost, MD
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +367 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    It was a joke.

    But afaik, some cameras don't. There was a guy shooting at one of the strobist meets with a Hasselblad digital back and I think it was the 510 body. He had to use a sync cord I had with me because the Hasselblad only had a cold shoe.
  9. JimmyO
    Offline

    JimmyO New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    In some cases, i think with older cameras. Then you would hook it up with a sync cord.
  10. andrew99
    Offline

    andrew99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I have a D40 and SB600. I have the 4 channel Cactus V2S triggers, and they work fine (well, fine is a relative term! -- I've spent more time trying to get these things to work reliably than I have spent taking pictures)

Share This Page