world cup - shooting at millenium square (leeds, UK)

Paul_the_6th

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.paulwilson.me.uk
I turned up at millenium square in leeds on saturday with my camera, all prepared to capture the highs and lows of England's last game in the world cup tournament.

After queuing for ages to get thru the gates, i was frisked, asked to open my bag, then told "Sorry mate no proffessional photographers". I responded "I'm a graphic designer, this is my personal hobby". He responded "that looks like a professional camera to me" - I said "if i bring my 2 megapixel compact with me is that ok with you?" he said "that sounds professional to me too".

I ran back to the car, ditched my camera and made my way back only to be dished some more abuse when I got back to the gates. Once I was in, after about half an hour, there was a guy walking round with a 30d and mega telephoto lens. I collared him to ask how he'd gotten in with it - "I just walked through with it mate, they didn't say anything to me" was his response. He was exactly the same as me but i got turned away.

Later I spotted two photographers with media passes so I caught up with them and asked how they'd gotten hold of media passes. They said the agency they shoot for, had sorted it all out prior to the event.

Next time I'm gonna find out how to get a media pass. What are peoples views on being turned away while other's are allowed to get in scott free? Seems like discrimination to me. I didn't want to spoil the other guys afternoon as I wouldn't like it to happen to me.