would like some opinions

Johnefer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
buying my first nice camera mainly going to use for shooting surfers and was wondering swinging between canon rebel xt xti and the 40d d50 would just like to know what you guys think

It really depends on which feels better in your hands......can you use all the controls with ease.....that sort of thing. Go to a store and hold them and shoot a few pics in the store with each of them.......so on and so forth

buying my first nice camera mainly going to use for shooting surfers and was wondering swinging between canon rebel xt xti and the 40d d50 would just like to know what you guys think

I shoot surfing and my best advice is to shoot with a high framerate. The higher the better! I, personally, shot a 30D and now a 40d.

Do you mean 40d or D40?

so you think like a 40d with a 75-300 will do the job nicly and im a really big noob what do you mean byframerate? like shutter speed?

Could be both shutter speed frames per second. If you can swing the extra cash... find a VR lens (reduces the vibration or camera shake). I'm not sure though if a 300 is big enough. A lot of big time sports shooters are in the 400-600mm range.

Good luck to you!

I ment actual frames per second, which sometimes can be dependent on shutter speed. 300mm might work, depending on where you are shooting. I live in Florida, and most of our breaks are pretty close to shore and considered shore-breaks. I can shoot most of those with a 70-200, mostly on the long end. Now, I also used a friends 100-400 and it was really nice for the tighter shots and for the occasional outside break.

Which ever you choose. Cover it!! Sea salt water & blowing sand can kill a camera quick!!

k thanks for input guys really is helping me out on my dicision making