Would this be overstepping my boundaries?

Katie9715

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a 17-year-old photographer looking to potentially start making a little money off my hobby. My favorite radio station sponsors free concerts during the summer. It's virtually impossible to get a good camera angle with anything but a smartphone, as the concerts are always very crowded. I have some concert experience with a local music school, and I think they're pretty good pictures.

So, here's my actual question:
Would it be overstepping my boundaries to contact the radio station hosting the concerts and ask for better access in the name of photography? I've seen other photographers at these events and certainly don't have the equipment they do, but I've gotta learn somehow, right?

Here are some of my other concert pictures

Dont ask dont get.
Contact the organisers and ask for a photographers pass. If they ask for money tell them you have no budget and ask for a freebie.
Dont be shy, you will be amazed how helpful people can be if approached in a polite, professional manner.

Go for it. Ask them, most definitely.

My primary concern is that the venue has a 9 0'clock curfew for the under-21 crowd, of which I am a part. These concerts never end until 10:30 or 11, so I don't know if there would be an issue there. If anyone has had similar experiences, I'd love to hear what happened.

I don't see how it's overstepping your bounds.
In the words of Shia LaBeouf "just do it"

Go for it,its not over stepping asking.Now if you asked to take over the lead singers position, then maybe that would be reaching a bit.

Sometimes when I'm out and about, I stumble on various events. When i ask if I can get in, they usually ask for a business card. A business card is a handy thing to have. When I plan on going to an event and want to get a press pass, I check online to see if there is a press registration or send the contact an email.

.. I think they're pretty good pictures.