Wrong film in AE-1

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by Brutus, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. Brutus

    Brutus TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    After shooting about four rolls of film through my Canon AE-1, I noticed I had the ASA selection on 100, but all four of my rolls were ASA 200. I didn't have it on Automatic, I was using the full manual controls, and I'm wondering if all of my shots are going to be so overexposed as so to make it not worth even getting the film developed, or will the exposure be fixable during developing and post processing?
     
  2. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    L.A.
    If you were shooting color print film, you're fine. In fact color print film often
    looks better if shot at half the box speed.
     
  3. Brutus

    Brutus TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, well that's quite the relief, haha. I'm very new to 35mm shooting, so I'm still trying to figure out which speeds work best for me in given situations. Thanks.
     
  4. j-dogg

    j-dogg TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Flori-duh
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    really.....so suppose I shoot FujiColor Pro 160, should I do a couple frames at 80 ASA? Kodak Portra 400vc @ 200? I didn't know that, damn I'll have to get a couple rolls this weekend and try that. :thumbup: I've always shot the rated ISO, this sounds like a neat little trick. It's a shame my Maxxum 4 doesn't have an ISO override (or if it does I haven't figured it out yet)

    What about B+W?
     
  5. ann

    ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    189
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    negative film is commonly used at half the box speed with slide film more common to underexpose about 1/3 of a stop
     
  6. compur

    compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    L.A.

    Different films may respond to this trick differently but in general most
    color print films can easily handle a one-stop over-exposure and often
    benefit with less grainy shadow areas and better overall image
    characteristics. This is because color print films generally have a very
    wide latitude (exposure forgiveness) in the direction of over-exposure but
    not much latitude with under exposure. Some say this translates into the
    film manufacturers over-stating their color print film's true ISO rating.

    In the case of Kodak's Ektar 100, different over/under exposures affect the
    films color saturation as well -- over exposure increases it and vice versa.


    Traditional B&W film is a whole other thing and so is color reversal (slide)
    film. The over-exposure trick above applies to color print film only.
     
  7. ann

    ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    189
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    something you can test for youself with black and white. take a roll of film and shoot at half the box speed and the rest at the box speed. compare prints to see which gives you the best detail information in the shadows. shoot the same images so you can review them using the same "yard stick" .

    more than half of my students vary their ISO based on the equipment they are using which generally isn't the box speed.
     
  8. Early

    Early TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western NJ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    There is no automatic film speed setting for that camera. It hadn't been invented yet. Anyway, I always gave my color neg film 1/3 stop more exposure.
     
  9. dxqcanada

    dxqcanada Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    700
    Location:
    Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Correct ... but he set the camera's meter to 100 ISO ... so the meter readings will over-expose by 1 stop.
     
  10. Early

    Early TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western NJ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yep! My bad! That's what I get for skip reading.:blushing:
     
  11. gsgary

    gsgary Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16,062
    Likes Received:
    2,813
    Location:
    Chesterfield UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The developing time can be altered, have half developed as normal and have as if you had pulled the film
     
  12. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yeah, but you have to do that to the whole roll. Wouldn't really work for shooting half a roll at one ISO setting and the rest at another.


    If it's only 1 stop, I wouldn't even worry about it.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
best film for a canon ae-1
,
best film for canon ae 1
,

best film for canon ae-1

,
best film for canon ae-1 program
,
canon ae- 1 portra film
,
canon ae-1 ektar 100
,
canon ae-1 ektar100
,
canon ae-1 iso 400
,
canon ae1 where to develop film
,
film for ae-1