XT or XTi

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by leopardforest, Jun 22, 2007.

1. leopardforest

leopardforest TPF Noob!

I am beginner photographer and I recently took a B&W film photography class and not to be cocky, my instructors feel that I am a pretty good photographer and have an eye for taking decent (sorry I haven't digitized any of my film yet) pictures.

So I want to go to digital and I have narrowed it down to either the Canon XT or XTi. Any advice would be great!! Thanks!

leo

2. hudsonp

hudsonp TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit

i bought the XTi from dell becuase it was only $80 more than the XT, it was worth the extra $$$ for the extra mega pixel (XT is 8mp, xti is 10mp)

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The XTi is the newer version of the XT and has many improvements. If the price is close, get the XTi. If there is a significant price difference, the XT is still a very good camera.

4. leopardforest

leopardforest TPF Noob!

I do realize that the XTi has 2 million more pixels than the Xt but other than that, what makes it better, such as user interface, the larger screen and anything else that I am missing that makes it a better buy? I would like that higher res. but I am wondering it it is really worth it?

5. leopardforest

leopardforest TPF Noob!

On B&H they have the XT and XTi with 18-55 lens and a 2gb memory card for $604 and $806 respectively. Is the $200 worth it?

6. Big Mike

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I can't recall all the differences off hand, but the XTi does have an anti-dust sensor. Also, the layout is different. Best bet would be to hold both and see which you like best. $200 might be a significant difference, you could put that money toward a better lens or a flash etc.

7. hudsonp

hudsonp TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit