Yongnuo ONLY firing at full power?

Discussion in 'Lighting and Hardware' started by DGMPhotography, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. DGMPhotography

    DGMPhotography Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Anyone have this happen to them?

    One of my Yongnuo 560 III's started to only fire at full power. Everything was working normal, until my last shoot. I was setting up a shot and needed to lower the power on one side, and I lowered it to 1/128 and saw that there was no difference between that and 1/1. I use a TX560 controller, if that means anything. I tried switching it to different modes (slave, manual, remote), and no luck. Replaced the batteries and no dice.

    Kind of strange for it to randomly start doing this, but I guess for a $60 flash I shouldn't expect any better?

    Any ideas?


     
  2. benhasajeep

    benhasajeep No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Eddington, ME
    Does it only fire on full when it's the only one on the hot shoe? In other words, have you tried the flash on its own without the controller?
     
  3. pixmedic

    pixmedic The Mustached Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    14,127
    Likes Received:
    6,558
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    i have not had this problem with any of my yongnuos, and ive had a few 560's, but....
    thats why I had 8 flashes when i only needed 3-4 at a time.
     
  4. DGMPhotography

    DGMPhotography Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yeah, like I said, I tried it on all the different modes with no luck :(
     
  5. benhasajeep

    benhasajeep No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Eddington, ME
    If it's doing it on it's own, then I guess something in the electronics let go.
     
  6. DGMPhotography

    DGMPhotography Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,693
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    Yeah.. maybe faulty capacitor.
     

Share This Page