You Can't Take Pictures Here!

pbelarge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I went to help an attorney today, who is a friend of mine...he needed my technical knowledge for a case he is working on.
As I left, I went to a location to shoot tall buildings about a mile from his office.

I have been stopped by police twice in this city before.
So I am minding my business on the sidewalk taking photos, and a police car comes up to me with lites flashing and stops right in front of me...I am thinking here we go again. I happen to be photographing the Ritz Carlton Hotel. He walks right past me to an altercation that is happening at the entrance. In the mean time the manager sees me and comes over to tell me "You can't take pictures here". I told him (a few fibs) that I was a photographer who is well versed in the law and that the city ordinance owns the sidewalks up to 15ft from the curb. I told him to stop harassing me or I would call over one of the now 12 cops who were less than 30ft from us. He gave me a snotty look and walked away.

1 for photogs :thumbup:
-1 for hotel managers :thumbdown:

Awesome job P!! Way to use intelligence and cheek to triumph. Nice work!

Good work. :lol:

There are very few places I know of that photography actually is forbidden... And I comply, of course.

I would love to bring a camera into those places though, lol. My workplace being one of them... So many cool things there... Oh well.

There are legitimate security concerns necessitating the ban of cameras at work, so I can deal with it. State secrets and corporate espionage and all that...

(Corporate espionage is serious business that a lot of businesses pretty much ignore... :meh: )

I went to help an attorney today, who is a friend of mine...he needed my technical knowledge for a case he is working on.
As I left, I went to a location to shoot tall buildings about a mile from his office.

I have been stopped by police twice in this city before.