Zoo Pics - Critique plz

Xbethx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So im pretty new to photography. These are the first "professional" worthy shots ive taken with my Canon T3i.
They were shot with the aperture priority preset. Everything automated and no tripod.
I know the focus is a little soft on some of them but let me know what you think

Thanks
Ouus7tZ.jpg

fTyzfOu.jpg

9DAXAPf.jpg

dhInbP1.jpg

H8EaIhk.jpg

Last edited:
A few questions:

1) When you say the aperture priority pre-set I assume you mean AV mode on the mode dial right - and not one of the pre-sets like "action" mode.

2) What lens(es) did you use for these shots?

3) What is the aperture, ISO and shutter speed of each shot. You should be able to find this in the EXIF data attached to each shot taken by your camera. You can access this info in a few ways including:
a) Reviewing the shots on the back of the camera, the information normally has the 3 settings used shown as well if you bring up the shot details info

b) Right click the file - go to properties - then the details tab and scroll down. Note when doing it this way be careful of the aperture, it will often list the "maximum" aperture which is the maximum aperture the lens could use - what you want is the aperture (ergo the actual one used for the shot).

c) A photo properties/information/exif option in your editing software of choice (most has the capacity to read this info - some like lightroom even display it upfront in the editing process

4) What (if any) editing have you done to these shots (a brief summary)

5) RAW or JPEG (if you don't know chances are its JPEG)

I prefer shots that don't squeeze the subjects too much especially when parts of the animal like the giraffe's ears and lion's and bird's feet are cut off or parts of their body just touch the border. Telephotos are very useful especially with animals, birds, etc. But use them with some forethought . Nice shots.

Thanks for the replies.