$150 to $200 off a lens!!

photonewbie23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So i bought my d5100 from best buy and they are offering me the option of getting the following:

1. af-s dx 55-200mm vr telephoto lens for $150
2.af-s nikkor 55-300mm vr lens for $250
3.af-s 70-300mm vr telephoto lens for $389

Ive been looking online and I really cant find any that are much cheaper, and if they are its from amazon and used. . . are the following ok deals? Im looking for something that would help me shoot at distances around 20-30 feet, what would you recommend ? thanks for any input im pretty new at this.

Last edited:
Ok, so the 55-300 is better quality than the 55-200. It's not just slightly longer but better build. The 70-300 is an fx lens; you have a dx camera, so it might be slightly overkill. If you are just starting out, I'd recommend the 55-300 as an intermediate.

Yep the 55-300vr is the better buy. But do love the smaller,lighter and more compact 55-200vr for walkabouts. But sports,wildlife,etc. then the 55-300vr is a better match.

thanks guys now im doing some research on both lens and I think im gonna go with the 55-300 since I do plan on shooting some wildlife pictures and some of my brothers soccer games.

Check some lens tests and compare the 70-300 and 55-300. The 70-300 will win. It may be an FX lens but it works perfectly on a crop-sensor camera. I've had mine for several years, and if something happens to it I'll buy another one just like it.

Of you're not going to go to full frames soon, it's fine to have a 55-300. However, if you're planning to upgrade to full frame in the future, 70-300 is IMO the best call for this situation.

Well now you guys got me wondering if I should go ahead and get the fx lens since I'm getting a descent discount for purchasing my 5100 from them.