1960's camera help?

Allay!

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm just an amateur photographer, but lately I've had my heart set on getting some sort of camera that was popular in the mid 60's.

The problem is, I don't know what model or brand to get. I'm not too familiar with older camera types, considering I'm only a teenager. My aunt recommended a Kodak Brownie Starlet, but I'm still not sure. She said she isn't too big with film photography.

So here are a couple of questions to you film photographers out there:
1) What are some good camera models that were frequently used back then? I'm not asking for an SLR, I'll purchase a vintage one when I'm more experienced with film cameras. I'm looking for one that's inexpensive, and has early color.
2) How is film obtained? And would I need a darkroom to develop?

I'm sorry for such newb questions. As I said, I'm not familiar with the world of film photography as I am with digital, but film has always sparked my interest far more.

Any help would be great! Thanks!

First choice, get an older 35mm film SLR. They aren't very expense and you can get different lens in the future if your needs grow. There are so many different makes, but I cut my teeth on Nikon. A full manual camera like the Nikon F2 or Nikkormat FTN, or maybe Nikon FM or FE (auto?).
You can start with a color film and get it processed at many shops. If you are so inclined, read up on darkroom work and develop your own bk & wh film. Don't bounce back and forth trying different films, pick a good one (like Kodak Tri-X) and learn how to expose and develop it well. You can't learn much if you keep changing film types. Take your time and learn from your mistakes.
...Terry

Yes, a Nikon F is probably your best and most reliable bet.

_______________-

Film: Nikon F3HP (x2), Nikon FM2N. Nikkors 28 f3.5, 50 f1.8, Micro-Nikkor 55 f2.8, 135 f3.5.
Digital: Fuji S5500 POS.