TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As the title says im trying to decide between

AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED @ $1889.95
and
AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF @ $744.95

apart from the price difference, is the picture quality that better with the 2.8 G ?

i am not a professional and only take pictures for hobby. Use a nikon D610 and only have 50mm F1.8 now.

1. don't buy new.
2. the 24-85 is still a decent lens.
3. I think the nikon 24-70 is an overpriced, oversized, non-stabilized, monstrosity.
4. I think you should consider the Tamron SP 24-70.

Hmm thanks for the suggestion :)

i have been looking around for that range lens used but they never show up haha.

so 24-70 is not as good lens as it seems to be i guess .

any other suggestions for range of 24-120mm with good quality pictures ?
I consider 50mm prime to be good quality is tamron better than 50 mm ?

1. don't buy new.
3. I think the nikon 24-70 is an overpriced, oversized, non-stabilized, monstrosity.

My 24-85 /2.8-4 is my goto lens in general for my d600. Great range. I bought mine used though for $250ish a few years ago.

It also has a macro mode.

btw, you listing has it as an "IF" lens or Internal Focus. It is NOT. The lens extends out for focusing.
The reason alot of the 2.8 IF lenses are so big is because they are internal focusing so the entire length of the lens has to be at maximum length for internal focusing and no focusing tube extrusion going out/in.

Check KEH.com for used if you aren't comfortable on ebay.

Hmm thanks for the suggestion :)

i have been looking around for that range lens used but they never show up haha.

so 24-70 is not as good lens as it seems to be i guess .

any other suggestions for range of 24-120mm with good quality pictures ?
I consider 50mm prime to be good quality is tamron better than 50 mm ?

1. don't buy new.