2nd shooting Price

LISA ACIERNO

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.laimages.net
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im an established wedding photographer and haven't minded shooting with other photographers when I was available. I just hand my card over and do not edit. Two other established photographers I work with started out paying me $325 flat rate which they pay the inexperienced girls as well and I was fine with that, but now my wrists are taking a beating and I would like more money. Asked for $25 more an hour over 8hours, but still feel like I am undercutting myself. The one guy tried to get me 12 hours for that rate and I thought he was ridiculous. They are making $3000 a wedding which is where my pricing for my own weddings is as well. I shoot just as much for my own!

Question is: How much do you pay your second/assistant photographer and what is it based on?

Last edited:
Don't mind Gary... ;)

Take these comments with a grain of salt, as I'm a hobbyist. If you feel your time is worth more, than stand up for yourself. However, weigh the benefits of this money versus your time. It sounds like you're not post processing any of the images. Would you be out shooting a $3K wedding during this time, or would it be idle time? In other words, if you're not second shooting, are you making money?

Someone with proper experience will come along shortly and have a better answer. :)

Obviously what is needed here is skillful, tactful negotiations. Not to worry, that happens to be a specialty of mine.

Ok, so you'll need a hooded cloak of some sort, preferably black but a really dark navy blue or a sufficiently dark grey can do in a pinch. You'll also need a small metal trash bin, a mentally disturbed wombat, some toothpaste, a ball peen hammer and 3 quarts of lighter fluid.