35mm f1.8 vs 17-55mm f2.8

segcamaro

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello All,

I am new to photography and am working to expand my gear. I just recently purchased the 17-55mm f2.8 for my camera. I am really excited to try it out when I get home from my deployment! I have read a lot of great reviews on this lens. That being said, I have also read a lot great reviews on the 35mm f1.8. I am wondering if it would be worth the money to get this lens. Any extra input from veteran photographers would be great!! BTW, I am using a D5100. The reason I am thinking that the 35mm lens would be good is for the indoor lighting. My wife and I are going to Europe for 10 days when I get back from the desert. I've heard this is the lens to have for indoor/low light pictures. What do you think? Purchase it or is it just a waste of money and use my 17-55mm.

Thank you
Shaun

There happens to be two 35mm 1.8G lenses. There is the DX version, and the newer FX lens. The FX one is not worth looking at, at all (too pricey, and on a D5100 it wouldn't perform any better than the DX version). Just clarifying that.

- edit: (Note, my math below might be off by just a smidge... not sure if f2.8 to f1.8 is 1 and a third stops, or 1 and a quarter... but for all practical purposes the point remains the same)

The difference between f1.8 and f2.8 is one and a third stops of light. What that means is if you needed a shutter speed of 1/50 of a second at f2.8 on your 17-55, the 35mm 1.8G at f1.8 would only need a shutter speed of 1/133 of a second to get approximately the same exposure (of course, that shutter speed would be rounded by the camera).

Alternatively, let's say you want to get 1/50 of a second shutter speed for your shot, and you're at ISO 1600. If you use f1.8 and stay at 1/50 of a second shutter speed, you could drop your ISO to about 640 and you'd be getting a similar exposure.