3rd party flash?

jeljohns

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know I need to get a flash, but I was wondering if there are any 3rd party flashes people have used for Canon Rebel at a lower cost than the Canon speedlights.

I've never used a third party flash before, but there are a few brands that have decent reputations...just be sure a particular model can work with your Canon. Check B&H for Bower, Metz, Sigma, Sunpak and Vivitar flashes that are compatible with Canon EOS DSLRs. Look for models that have swivel, bounce and zoom heads.

Second hand is a good option too, but check for the trigger voltage as some DSLR's don't like high trig voltages.

Pretty much any external flash you get is going to run circles around the built-in
smile.gif

I got a SunPak Auto 222 Thrysistor for 20 bucks (actually I traded a lens worth 50 dollars for a lens worth 30 dollars (I love the 30 dollar lens way more that I likes the 50 dolalr one) and the flash)