40D or D200?

D-50
have you compared your Sigma 70-200 2.8 to the Canon 70-200 2.8 at all? So far I've only heard that its not as fast as the canon but haven't heard any image quality issues.

ok boblybill, i saw them. yeh those are some nice shots. just about every pic i've seen with this lens is nice. sure it's not L quality, but i'm just getting into photography and don't have the money yet to go and spend thousands on lenses. when my wife graduates from nursing school and starts working... now thats a different story :D. as long as the 40D and the 18-55 and the 28-135 give me better pics than a point and shoot and even an advanced point and shoot (which i'm pretty sure it will), then i'll be happy.

ok boblybill, i saw them. yeh those are some nice shots. just about every pic i've seen with this lens is nice. sure it's not L quality, but i'm just getting into photography and don't have the money yet to go and spend thousands on lenses. when my wife graduates from nursing school and starts working... now thats a different story :D. as long as the 40D and the 18-55 and the 28-135 give me better pics than a point and shoot and even an advanced point and shoot (which i'm pretty sure it will), then i'll be happy.

Being honest I have a feeling you may be disappointed at the start with this kit. The 40D is a great camera no doubt but the onboard flash is pretty poor and really benefits from a decent unit like the 430EX or 580EX.

The lenses you are looking at are pretty slow. They'll be fine in bright light but as soon as the light drops, shutter speeds fall and you need to start using a high ISO to maintain decent shutter speeds. In low light even ISO1600 will be unlikely to give a decent enough shutter speed particularly on the 28-135 as ytou need to maintain a ss of around 1/125 or higher.

Better to buy a couple of nice starter lens with a large fast maximum aperture. Also the lenses you have have duplicated focal lengths..... try and minimise this.