5 minute test shoot

dizzyg44

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, New house means I get to finally have room for a little bit of a studio.

Brand new strobe lighting, homemade muslin and support stand using my old crappy SV light stands and pvc.

Too make things more challenging, I used my wife's Powershot G10 for this to prove to her that her camera doesn't suck (plus my camera's batteries were charging). I've never used it before, she's never even taken it out of auto herself. :lol:

Anywho, here is the shot I'd like C&C'ed, 100% straight off the camera, net even cropped.

3604624707_87c51b1a5e_o.jpg

Here's my makeshift studio, The muslin is doubled over. It's long enough to continue covering the entire floor. I also have a white in the same size.
3605445904_c2567fcc85_o.jpg

Another...I noticed the highlights slightly blown, but I love the separation between subjects and BG.
3604626109_5b8f53cc49_o.jpg

Subject not that interesting I know, but just from a lighting standpoint how is it?
3604627449_de74bce97b_o.jpg

Last edited:
The lighting is nice and even. The thing I don't like is the skin shine. You could try getting those lights closer to your subjects to soften it even more, or just messing with positioning.

Oh, and I'm jealous of your lighting set-up. -.-

well well... i think il lbin the DSLR and buy a compact :p

Thanks,

as for the lighting setup, don't be jealous. It's brand new to me and has been a little problematic. It's not a high end one at all, but it's not the cheapest kit I could find either.

it's the B&H impact kit, 2 400's and 1 100, 3 stands, 1 boom stand, umbrella's, 24" softbox, Quantam trans and rcv'er.