500,000 Shutter Count on my D7000?!?

DanielOL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I'm new to cameras and photography so please bare with any stupid comments I say :greenpbl:. I recently bought a Nikon D7000 online to keep up with the photography I do. I am after checking the camera actuations and it is at 500,000. My dad's D3 is at 100,000 and he has had the camera since around '08 and he is taking pics professionally every day. Myshuttercount.com says his camera is 39% through its life.

I find it hard to get my head round my shutter count. Is it possible to be a fault in the camera's software or something? It works perfectly for me with pretty much no scratches or anything. Feels close to new! Can anyone explain what is going on here? :confused:

Maybe 50,000? What are you using to check the shutter count? Get an exif data reader, take a picture in jpeg, and use the reader to check the shutter count.

Hi,

I'm new to cameras and photography so please bare with any stupid comments I say :greenpbl:. I recently bought a Nikon D7000 online to keep up with the photography I do. I am after checking the camera actuations and it is at 500,000. My dad's D3 is at 100,000 and he has had the camera since around '08 and he is taking pics professionally every day. Myshuttercount.com says his camera is 39% through its life.

I find it hard to get my head round my shutter count. Is it possible to be a fault in the camera's software or something? It works perfectly for me with pretty much no scratches or anything. Feels close to new! Can anyone explain what is going on here? :confused:

I can't see that being right. The person would have had to take 549 pictures a day for 912 days straight (the release to right now).
That seems... excessive.

Maybe 50,000? What are you using to check the shutter count? Get an exif data reader, take a picture in jpeg, and use the reader to check the shutter count.