80-300mm lens. What is the magnitude of zoom it would offer?

Sash[DSL]

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
A friend of mine is offering a 80-300mm zoom lens at a good price for a 35 mm camera. Im not a total newbie, i kinda know how zoom lenses work, however i have one thing bugging me: afaik, the general rule for zoom lenses is that the magnitude of zoom = max foc. length/min foc. length or something like that. However, something tells me that the image projected at 80mm is 1.6 times bigger than the 50mm foc. length that is considered "normal" for 35mm cameras. So, 1.6*(300/80) is 6x zoom. Or is it 300/80=3.75

I would take your camera body over to your friends house and put the zoom on your camera. This will show you the two most important things:

1- Will it even work with your camera?

2- You can actually look through the viewfinder and see if it will do what you need it to- and that's all that matters, right?

jadin
It matters because I already have a zoom lens, its 1.6x zoom. It is a very good all-purpose zoom lens, BUT when i try to take candid shots of people, its zooming ability is just not enough, I still have to be pretty close to the person to take a good portrait shot. If the zoom on 80-300mm is 3.75x, it will definitely be much better, but still not good enough. If its 6x, that will mean I can take a portrait pic from across the street, which will be much handier

Goofup
Yes, the lens does fit the camera, i saw it on the camera and looked through the viewfinder, its fine. It would really take me a while to see if it would do what I need to do, and the seller needs to sell it either to me or some1 else ASAP. HOWEVER, I have seen people work with 6x zoom digital cameras, and it did quite a good job. I do realize that its hard to compare digital to 35mm beccause of different resolutions of CCD sensor, but im pretty sure 6x will get me what I wANT. 3x wont do it.

SO WILL SOME1 PLEASE JUST TELL ME IF ITS 3.75 or 6X