A camera

EvMechan11

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, so I'm new to photography, I've got some books on hold at the library that i'm picking up and my mom is digging out our old film cameras, but I need a new digital camera as my old one's batter is now so bad it wont even turn on even when plugged in. I've been doing research on Cnet and found this Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H20 Digital camera reviews - CNET Reviews
the ratings are good but I want to hear what professionals have to say about it, I'm currently saving money that i'm making from my blog where I post chapters of a book I'm writing. It will be used for some photography work but most likely daily things like gatherings and stuff. We have excellent old film cameras we got at a garage sale a few years ago, I'll post pictures of them as soon as I find them XD

What do you plan to do in photography? You taking this up as a serious hobby, plans on taking some courses and such? Or just doing it for fun?

If you plan on taking this further, I'd look into a dSLR camera, the ones with the interchangeable lenses. Look for something used, maybe a 30D from Canon or even the Rebel series.

It will be used for some photography work but most likely daily things like gatherings and stuff. We have excellent old film cameras we got at a garage sale a few years ago, I'll post pictures of them as soon as I find them XD
Your choice should work nicely for your intended 'most likely daily things'.

I would reserve the film cameras for the 'photography work' or rent a DSLR and appropriate lens for the purpose.