A kodak

vetobob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to photography and got a Kodak EasyShare P880 while in Iraq. I've always wanted to do some photography but never had a chance to till now.
Some of the features on the camera I'm still trying to figure out. Does anyone know how to get the best possible pictures? I've been advised by a girl I'm working with, to get an SLR. I don't know the difference between an SLR and a Digital?
There is a slot for a zoom flash but I'm not sure what a zoom flash is for. It already has a built in flash that pops up when you need it. I'm wondering if I should get a zoom lense.

Wow! That's a whole lot of questions.

Let me suggest a simple approach to them while not answering any of them directly.

Read your camera's manual. Try to learn one new feature every few days. Take pictures using each newly-learned feature.

With time, you'll come to know your present camera very well.

When you find that there are pictures you cannot take because of some feature that your camera lacks, it's time to start looking into new gear. By then, you'll have a pretty good idea of just what will best fit your particular style and needs.

I have a Kodak Z650 that is my sports camera. I take it fishing, hunting, hiking and just about everywhere else I go. It has a lot of features that I like and takes some pretty good pictures. My skill level isn't that great yet, so I figure I'll just keep working at developing my skills with this camera. The other good thing about this camera is, if I tip over in my kayak and it goes under, I don't have to kill myself. :confused: