A little help please

jefflesh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, my name is Jeff and I am new to the forum. I am steping up from a Sony DSC-W30 (at least that's what I think it is) to a Canon Rebel XTi kit. I have a few questions about this camera.

1) All the reviews state that it does not have spot metering. When I looked over the manual onlilne it did have metering. Is there different types of metering or am I just getting confused.

2) How does this camera compare to the EOS 30? The 30 is an 8mp camera while the XTi is a 10.1. Someone told me that the 30 has a bigger image processor, does that make a big difference? What is more important mega-pixils or the image processor?

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Jeff

I just recently bought the XTi. It has taken amazing pictures this month and I absolutely love it.

I've always been told not to buy a camera based on how many mega pixels. I am not good with comparing cameras to say which one is better because I don't really believe its all about the camera...its about the eye of the photographer..wow, that's cheesey.

The XTi is light in weight, comfortable in your hands, and user friendly.

Thanks for the reply. Have you taken any pictures in lower light situations?

Last week I went up north with my family, we went on a hike through the Jordan River Vally. At different spots through the hike I thought it would be great to take some photos of the family and nature. When reviewing the pictures on the computer I noticed that in the pictures of the family did not come out when shooting in the shadows of the forest. Needless to say, most of my pictures are not that good. They are really grainy, dark, and fuzzy. The camera I have does not allow for manual adjustment of the ISO settings and I think that this is a cause for the problems.