A lot of people claiming there professional :/

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aakajx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A lot of people in my area claim to be professional photographers on Facebook charging big money for poor jobs.
I kind of think maybe if they are starting out charge a little fee or do it free.. When do you think is the right time to call yourself a professional?

What's your thoughts ?

I guess you are professional when you are getting paid to take photos. That obviously doesn't mean they are any good.

Don't worry about them, it works itself out, when they produce crap, the clients spread the word, brings them down to reality really quickly.

PS: "they're"

There are those that think they can simply buy a camera, take some pictures and 'make money' with them. Yeah, right.

How about I buy a bunch of carpenter tools and claim I'm a carpenter ready to do home repairs for you?

Having the right tools makes getting the job done easier. KNOWING HOW TO USE THEM EFFECTIVELY produces far better results. In short, as JTPhotography noted above, they won't be 'in business' for long.

To be honest though you can buy a camera, take some pictures and make money. And may people do buy carpenter tools and do home repairs.

It doesn't make then good but in the UK we call them Cowboys (i.e cowboy builders, cowboy photographers etc). Not sure if the term i used in the US. We even have TV shows who 'out' them to the general public.

To be honest though you can buy a camera, take some pictures and make money. And may people do buy carpenter tools and do home repairs.