a slide film virgin needs help

blackdoglab

yeah I'm easy.... but I'm not cheap
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here's the score, I want to try slide film and have no clue of what to get or what precautions I need to take with it. I've heard that kodachrome can only be processed by one lab in the U.S., so that's out. What else is out there?

fujichrome velvia (high saturation, nice yellows and blacks), fujichrome provia (medium saturation, nice blues), fujichrome astia (good skin tones)

-if u can find it, black and white agfa scala.

--i like provia 100F the best.

---also, kodak makes some good slide film so i've heard, but i have never used it before...

If you started with either Fuji Provia 100 or Velvia 100, I doubt you'd be disappointed. Fujichrome pretty much rocks.

Kodak's not bad at all, so definitely worth a try if you find Fuji not to your liking. Ektachrome 100 (E100 VS) is lovely stuff, indeed.

Scala was FUN to shoot! :) I've no idea if it's still available.

Buy a couple rolls of each, you'll soon have your own personal fave.

So it seems that as long as i stay within ametuer slide films I'll be alright. Cool. oh, and Foma makes a b&w reversal film.

I shoot E100VS 4x5 sheets for my color film work.

Provia 400 is, in my opinion, the best and most versatile color film on the planet. The colors are wonderful, the skin tones can be quite natural when subjects are lit correctly, the grain is practically as fine as the ASA100 Provia, and it can be pushed or pulled.

So it seems that as long as i stay within ametuer slide films I'll be alright. Cool. oh, and Foma makes a b&w reversal film.

Well, all of the films mentioned are pro films.