About to buy a Canon XTi

Carlos Cané

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone! :D I've been saving the last few months and finally I got enough money to buy a XTi :D I'm a photography beginner so I hope this is a good choice. I would prefer buying it online since it's a lot cheaper than here in Mexico. I was wondering what would be best for me, buying the camera body only or with the 18-55 mm lens that it comes with? I like to shoot all kinds of things like planes, portraits, cars, landscapes, etc. Obviously that lens won't be enough for all that but I guess it's something ot start with. Do you recommend buying it with the lens or just the body and save for another lens?

Also I've been looking through different online stores and I was wondering where can I find the best price. So far I found this site: (camera with lens) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/457541-REG/Canon_1236B001_EOS_Digital_Rebel_XTi.html

Can I trust that site? Any other suggestions? Thanks a lot!! :D

Do you recommend buying it with the lens or just the body and save for another lens?

I guess the answer is... buy the body only if you can afford a better lens at the same time, or if not then buy it with the kit lens. Just as long as you have a lens with the body - not much point having one without the other.

B&H are definitely trustworthy. Though based in New York, they are good enough that people in various countries around the world buy from them too. Definitely a safe choice.