About to jump in!

IonSpeedMaster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So my interest in photography has rekindled lately and there couldnt be a better time. Everything is beginning or in the middle of blossoming and Im looking for a new hobby. I have little to no photo experience, but Im pretty confident that this can become a serious interest of mine if I can catch on. I like to run, bike, golf, and im interested in cars; these will be the kids of locations (trails and golf links) and objects (cars) that I want to focus on shooting. Im shooting with a throwback sony cybershot now (SHOOT ME) and im right on the edge of getting a Canon 6.0 Powershot D3IS. From what I hear its good for the price you pay, its one of the better/best point and shoots out there if you dont want to fork over double the cost for an SLR. Id like to feel welcome here and to get some opinions on this camera. The reason im asking here is because i basically dont trust the "canned" reviews that are all over the retailing sites. Thanks in advance
Andy

I can't help with your specific camera question [I'm centered in b&w film and older cameras], but I can offer a warm 'Welcome!'

Welcome! I would also look at www.dpreview.com - I trust the reviews there (which are very in depth.) If you are looking for the S3IS, there is a review there for it - I think they rated it pretty highly.

I also recommend going to a store (even a Best Buy) and just trying the camera out - look for how it feels in your hand, how it feels taking a picture, things like that.

I know you're looking at point and shoots, but a DSLR might be an option, too. The S3IS is around $300, but a basic Pentax DSLR can be had for $500. The Canon Rebel XT or Nikon D40 start at around $550 - and offer quite a bit more in terms of ability, expandability (if your hobby grows into an addiction), and such. It may be worth the extra $200-250 for all the things a DSLR offers.