Absolute Newbie

raelenem

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently discovered my Great Grandmothers camera hidden in my closet. She used it for years while she travelled, and I'm very interested in learning how to use it.

The camera's an Olympus, and came with what I believe is a Macro Lense (it says 70 - 210 mm on it), a 50 mm lense is on it, and a "Vivitar Auto Thyristor 225".

I've figured out some of the easier buttons and knobbies on it, I think.

I'm pretty much looking for someone to explain to me the basics of what I'm doing when I'm turning certain things, especially 3/4 of the "things that turn"... the fourth is focus, but I'd still like to understand the numbers.

Thanks to anyone willing to be patient enough with my absolute lack of knowledge about this and reply ;)

I recently discovered my Great Grandmothers camera hidden in my closet. She used it for years while she travelled, and I'm very interested in learning how to use it.

The camera's an Olympus, and came with what I believe is a Macro Lense (it says 70 - 210 mm on it), a 50 mm lense is on it, and a "Vivitar Auto Thyristor 225".

I've figured out some of the easier buttons and knobbies on it, I think.

I'm pretty much looking for someone to explain to me the basics of what I'm doing when I'm turning certain things, especially 3/4 of the "things that turn"... the fourth is focus, but I'd still like to understand the numbers.

Thanks to anyone willing to be patient enough with my absolute lack of knowledge about this and reply ;)

Im not familiar with the camera but you should basically have 2 things that turn, not including the focus and the zoom (if you have a turn zoom).