Adobe are SCUM

kap55

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been using Lightroom via monthly subscription for a few years but have finally decided that it is time to move on. When I went to the Adobe site to cancel I was faced with a fairly significant cancellation fee. Turns out that the anniversary of my signing on with Adobe was Sep 31 and that they want 50% of the subscription fee until next Sep 31. The will automatically bill by credit card as soon as I cancel - I have no choice or say in the matter. The only time you can cancel penalty free is on the anniversary of your original signing.

I can understand being hit with a penalty if you cancel within the first year, but after that you should be able to quit any time without penalty. I know there must be fine print that makes what Adobe is doing legal - but they are still scum.

And they're not the only ones.

It's actually a yearly subscription, only paid monthly. I agree they should be MUCH more open about it.

Guess you could always call your credit card company tell them you think your card has been compromised and ask them to issue a new one. Then let Adobe bill a closed card. :allteeth:

Guess you could always call your credit card company tell them you think your card has been compromised and ask them to issue a new one. Then let Adobe bill a closed card. :allteeth:

I did not close the account just because I wanted to consider my options - one of which is doing exactly that.

Waiting for the "usual suspects" here to come to the defense of Adobe...seems like no matter what kind of sh** Adobe pulls, there's a small group here who defends even the most-despicable actions that Adobe does...