Adolf Spongebob and the End of Civilization

The parents of people who can't read and/or can't assemble a coherent thought and support it have to bear a lot of the blame. My parents, who had minimal formal education, never would have put up with my not being able to function. They would have harassed the schools and teachers to be sure, but they also would have made sure I had basic skills necessary to survive in the world.

Hard to believe but the US is becoming increasing illiterate.

I believe it. I've been attempting educational outreach for 20 years. Nobody wants to read. Fake books lend all the atmosphere most people will tolerate.

It's disturbing. I read this last year and it scared the p*ss out me: Amazon.com: The Dumbest Generation: How the Digital Age Stupefies Young Americans and Jeopardizes Our Future (Or, Don't Trust Anyone Under 30) (9781585426393): Mark Bauerlein: Books

Joe

Yet, there is hope. Despite the fact that it seems the younger generations have become entirely self-absorbed and illiterate--and indeed, many of them have--there IS hope. I know this because I know my children, and I know some of their friends.
My sons, 19 and 21 years of age, have been reading since they were four years old. They were being read to long before that. My eldest, in particular, was almost NEVER without a book in his hand, even before he could read it himself.
The eldest was reading adult-level books by third grade. He read, and mostly understood the adult version of "The Way Things Work" when he was eight years old--he probably understood it better THEN than I do now!
As a result, they are incredibly literate, learned individuals. They both read a myriad of different genres, and they have both read more of the classics than almost any adult I know (outside my own family). And some of their friends are also pretty voracious readers.