Advice for a novice? cmera/courses?

vera979

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone!!!
I am really new to photography. But I would want to try myself.
What advice would you give an absolute beginner.
What camera should I buy and why?
Should I first go for a digital or film camera?
What features should the first camera have?
Should I take classes or one can learn by taking an online course or reading literature?
Would appreciate any general advice.
Thanks a million!!.
Vera

The first steps you should take are to read and learn about the basic aspects of photography. Read around this forum. Get a book on photography (I personally recommend the textbook Photography (8th edition) from Prentice Hall publishers. It's a really good book for beginners and intermediates). Read through this thread. Search Google. Google is always your good friend for when you don't understand something. Basically, you should start off by familiarizing yourself with as much of photography as you can. Get to know how cameras work, and how to work one. Classes help, but I don't think they're totally necessary. Basically just try to learn as much as you can. The more you know, the better.