Advice for Modeling Photography

nevfalasion

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to this site and these forums, so please bare with me. I am also new to advanced photography. I've always loved taking photos and have a natural eye for the right shots and angles. However, I know very little about the field and things such as modes and aperture settings. Since I was so interested in photography I purchased a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ7 (6 megapixels and 12x optical zoom). Most of the works I have done were of landscapes and shots of nature as well as family events.

My reason for posting here is to ask for help, hints, and advice on taking photos of a model. My friend has decided to start with modeling and has asked that I take the first photos for her first portfolio. I'm not too worried because she is a beautiful girl and I believe my 6 megapixel camera will suffice. However, I could really use some help on the following things:

-What equipment would I need that will really make a difference in this field? I only have the camera and a 1GB memory card. I know I would need a tripod for higher quality images so there is no blurring, etc. Are there filters or lenses that are a key component? Please keep the range within $100.

-What can I use for backgrounds in the photos?...because I don't have a studio or solid canvases or anything that I can have her pose in front of. Or what seems to work well?

-What are the best shutter/aperture settings for close ups (say facial shots) and for just normal posing photos?

-How do I know what to set my aperture and shutter speeds to based on my environment? (and when is flash necessary? or should it not be used at all when taking this type of photos.)